Noble County - Red Rock
Red Rock, is located in Carson township. This township was part of the Otoe hunting grounds and much of it was leased to the white man for cattle grazing.
On July 20, 1903, the town of Red Rock as it now stands, was opened. The name is a continuation of a former post office, Redrock, which was located six miles south in Santa Fe township. Several of the buildings were moved to the new 160 acre site. Joe Plumley owned the land which he platted into lots and sold for business and residential lots.
The first building to be erected was a bank building constructed of brick by George Sevey. "A metropolitan Livery Company and Bus Line" was run by Zack Miller. A newspaper "Red Rock Opinion" was housed above Bob Grey's merchandise store. The dipping vat in Red Rock was located directly south of where the Farmers Cooperative elevator now stands. Here many carloads of cattle were dipped for Texas fever ticks since the railroad was the dividing line for infected cattle for many years.
In 1917 Red Rock had a population of 500. It had a bank, two drug stores, four grocery and general merchandise stores, two grain elevators, two hardware stores, one hotel, one cafe and a lumber yard.
The information on this town was taken from: The Noble County Genealogy Society History of Noble County Oklahoma Perry, OK: McNaughton & Gunn, Inc., 1987. Permission was granted by the Noble County Genealogy Society to Cheryl DeJager and the Cherokee Strip Museum to use this information for research purposes. The information should not be used for publication or for other purposes without the express permission of the Noble County Genealogy Society.
Note: Not all of the photographs contained in this exhibit are available at the Cherokee Strip Museum. Photographs may have been edited for presentation on the web site.
Click on the images for a larger view. NOTE: Close each pop-up window before opening another.